on practice::creating as an act::momentum::writing

My 113 students have written rough drafts for their first assignment and we did peer response today. At this point in the term I often enjoy starting a discussion about how writing is a creative process, how we become better writers, what revision can do (especially over long time periods), etc. Over the weekend I read a blog post I thought my students would appreciate and perhaps you all will too. I posted the following to our class blog and we watched the video in class. The the video is one in a series. The others are available on You Tube.

via finslippy:

Writer Alice Bradley recently posted a blog entry on writing, momentum, creativity, and other topics. I found her entry compelling and thought you all might appreciate it, especially in light of your current work on assignment 1.

She includes this video of Ira Glass, host of This American Life (which I love and highly recommend…their podcast is iTunes most popular podcast, almost every week).

And she includes an anecdote from the book Art and Fear, which shows that the more work we produce (whether that work is music, writing, art, ideas, baking, anything) the better it gets. You can read the anecdote in her post, linked above.

2 Responses to “on practice::creating as an act::momentum::writing”


  1. 1 Denise September 9, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I had no idea you were also doing research for my dissertation, Abby. . .you’re a busy woman!


Leave a Reply

