Technology Presentations

A few people were interested in seeing this assignment from my ENG 111 class: In a nutshell, rather than me teaching students about different technologies (Audacity, Jumpcut, Moviemaker/IMovie), I ask students to teach each other about these technologies as a group presentation. In addition to the basic how-to stuff, I ask students to compile a list of resources related to the technology and put together a handout with relevant information, including rhetorical considerations when using the technology. 

This is only the second semester I have incorporated these presentations, so I’ll let you know how it goes, but last semester my students liked the idea of being the class “experts” in a specific technology. It also  keeps me from standing at the front of the room, gabbing at them about how a program works. And I am a gabber sometimes.

2 Responses to “Technology Presentations”


  1. 1 Jason September 9, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    I so am going to steal this from you. Brilliant.

  2. 2 Denise September 9, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Steal away. . .I’m pretty sure I stumbled across this idea somewhere else, but it all blurs together sometimes. Ah, grad school.


Leave a Reply

