martha on blogging

I still have sixteen essays to comment on before teaching at 8 a.m. (not to mention rounding out a lesson plan) but I cannot help sharing this link. Martha Stewart discussed blogging on her show today, which I found out about via the 3191 Year of Evenings photoblog to which I subscribe. Anyway, check out Martha’s post and the video clip. Oh how I would love to see the Perez Hilton moment. Anyway, just watch it. I have no words. If you know me you know I love all things crafty and diy…but there’s just something about Martha talking about blogs that makes them seem so uncool. Is it just me? What do you think?

Updated to add: here’s Perez Hilton.

2 Responses to “martha on blogging”


  1. 1 Aurora September 19, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    No, no. You’re right. Martha blogging is uncool squared. At the same time, what a great way to talk with students about audience. You could have a day where you showed sections of her video and then created a class handout together all about “How Not to Blog Like Martha.”
    But, maybe that’s just me… I think students would get that they need to have agency tho… don’t you?

  2. 2 abby September 19, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    It’s funny when she introduces the folks who blog “for her.” Ha ha. My students are revising their first essays right now, on wartime blogging, so they have been reading all these blogs by Iraqi citizens and American military folks…and constructing these strong claims of the “power” of blogging/commenting/discoursing across the globe. So, anyway, the point is…some of them also found this hilarious. They have not found any wartime crafting blogs though…hmm.


Leave a Reply

