Spring 2009 Teas

Please post your materials from Spring 2009 DWC Teas here – including any handouts!

2 Responses to “Spring 2009 Teas”


  1. 1 cdadas February 5, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Hey all,

    Thanks for all the great ideas at the tea on Monday. I’m always looking for ways to make peer review a more productive process for students and our conversation helped me reimagine that process. I like the idea of using Google docs as a space where students can share papers and read each other’s comments. Conducting peer review in this way seems to me to be emphasizing the dialogic nature of reading and writing–which is something I am always trying to emphasize in my classes. Great idea–I’m going to implement it asap in my 112 section.

  2. 2 Amber February 6, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I particularly liked the intimate nature of Monday’s tea. The “round table” atmosphere helped us feel comfortable sharing our successes and frustrations in the classroom (which led to a collaborative effort to make laptop use more effective).

    When we discussed how students often “glaze over” during lectures that provide background info for a text we may be reading, I particularly liked how someone suggest we let students actively do the background “legwork,” putting the responsibility on them (which makes our job a little easier) while also engaging them in the learning. I plan on using this as we get closer to working with our novel in 112.


Leave a Reply

